Lincoln Continues Blue Dot Streak

Voters turned out for the May 7 General Election to show their support for community growth, public safety, parks, trails and library programs.

Leirion Gaylor Baird will serve as Lincoln’s next mayor, succeeding Mayor Chris Beutler and continuing a 20-year winning streak of Democratic mayors.

Voters also gave a nod to Democrats on the Lincoln City Council with the re-election of incumbent Jane Raybould along with Democratic newcomers James Michael Bowers (District 1) and Tammy Ward (District 4).

Thanks to Megan Stock for running in City Council District 2. She held and participated in numerous events, called voters, wrote postcards, delivered yard signs, and more. She earned 11,000+ votes and came within 500 votes of winning the race in a district that has voted for Republican representation for multiple successive terms.

According to the Lincoln Journal Star article Dems ponder best way to fill seat, during previous vacancies “Mayor Chris Beutler helped pick the appointees in both of those vacancies, but subsequent changes to the city charter put the decision entirely in the hands of the City Council.” It's likely that when Baird steps into the Mayoral position, the vacated seat will be filled by a Democrat.

In the Lincoln Public Schools Board of Education races, Democratic incumbent Annie Mumgaard (District 4) won another term along with Democratic newcomer Bob Rauner (District 6).

Thanks to Aurang Zeb for running against the incumbent in the Airport Authority race.

In November, Lancaster County became Nebraska’s new “Blue Dot” as Democrats won every single Legislative seat that was up in the Capital city as well as every county race that a Democrat ran in.”

According to the Journal Star, Lincoln's 2019 general election sets voter turnout record for a local election, with more than 36 percent of registered voters casting 61,000+ votes.

Thanks to the Nebraska Democratic Party for their partnership on the voter guide, Block Captain program and Big Blue Canvass.

Special thanks to every volunteer who knocked doors, made phone calls, wrote postcards and more to talk to our community about voting. You are the reason that Lancaster County is the blue dot.

We look forward to your participation as we support Democratic candidates with energy and excitement for the 2020 election.

City Council candidates left to right: Tammy Ward (D4), Jane Raybould (D3), Leirion Gaylor Baird (Mayor), James Michael Bowers (D1), Megan Stock (D2).

See 2018 Lancaster County Is A Blue Dot!

Help elect Democrats, volunteer. Read our email, sign up.

Latest posts

Connect with us